Day: March 23, 2013

  • My On and Off Switches

    OK, time to take a break from the politicking for a bit, if for no other reason than to prove that I’m not a one-trick pony here.

    I guess it’s time to jump on board this particular Xanga bandwagon. Never mind that this will be crossposted to what’s become my main blog site.

    First the “bad news” . . .

    My Turn-Offs

    1. Ignorance, especially the intentional kind. Even worse, people who are ignorant, yet insist that they have all the answers.

    2. Habitual tardiness. If you say you’ll be there at 7 PM, be there at 7 PM.
    3. Dishonesty. Especially when it concerns where a potential partner and I stand with each other.
    4. Head games about where I stand with a potential partner.
    5. Control freaks. I got it from both Mom and Dad as a kid and teenager – my brother and I were the little flags on the tug-of-war rope. I’ve seen that tendency in myself, as well, and I don’t like it. What is it that Alcoholics Anonymous tells the drunks – “Admitting you have a problem is the first step” ?
    6. Gangsta princesses, with the cheap-looking tattoos and cheesy dollar-store bling. That should be self-explanatory.
    7. Excessive makeup and jewelry. Less is more in this category.
    8. Insistence that I change my views, interests and preferences. Especially when I’ve already expressed a distaste for the expected replacements.
    9. Expecting me to provide what you want without giving me anything that I want in return
    10. Self-pity – no guy worthy of the name wants the question “Do I look fat?”

    On to the good stuff.

    My Turn-Ons

    1. General agreement and tolerance where my politics and religion (more accurately, lack of religion) are concerned. Better yet, you have similar interests along those lines.

    2. Similar tastes in movies, music, food and drink.
    3. Tolerance for the self-defense tech that I own and sometimes carry. Better yet, you have similar interests along those lines.
    4. Punctuality. If you say you’ll be there at 7 PM, be there at 7 PM. Or maybe even a little early.
    5. Flirting and teasing is more fun when it goes back and forth.
    6. Reciprocity – I give what I get. I expect to get what I give.
    7. A sense of humor similar to mine.
    8. The understanding that when you want to get something from me, you have to give me something in exchange. As Heinlein said, “There Ain’t No Such Thing As A Free Lunch.”
    9. A potential partner for workouts, sparring, those sorts of things.

    In short, if you see that I makes your life better, tell me. And be specific. Figure out A) what I like and B) what I hate (I’m willing to tell you if you’re willing to listen), offer to do A and avoid B, AND STICK TO IT.

    All I can offer here is the same deal – to figure out A) what you like and B) what you don’t like, then offer to do A and avoid B.


    FOR FURTHER REFERENCE

    1. John Ross – Ross In Range

      1. Advice to Women About Men, or JR Uses Your Wristwatch to Tell You the Time

      2. Understanding Women & “The Rules” For Men, or Think of it Like Driving in England
      3. Women, Teasing, Tests, One-itis, and Hope, or Ross in Range Stands in for Dear Abby
      4. Ask the Assassin, or The Advice Request Emails Won’t Stop Coming
      5. Ask the Assassin: Thoughts on Marriage, or Why the Hell Are You Asking Me, Anyway?

    Copyright © 2013 Mike Blessing. All rights reserved.
    Produced by KCUF Media, a division of Extropy Enterprises.
    This blog entry created with Notepad++.

Pages

Recent Posts

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories